Guatemala Joins U.S. In Moving Embassy To Jerusalem

Embed from Getty Images

The President of Guatemala, Jimmy Morales, announced on Sunday that his country will move its embassy in Israel from Tel Aviv to Jerusalem.

Speaking at the annual American Israel Public Affairs Committee, Morales announced the decision to permanently move the embassy:

“In may of this year, we will celebrate Israel’s 70th anniversary, and under my instructions, two days after the U.S. will move its embassy, Guatemala will return and permanently move its embassy to Jerusalem.”

“I would like to thank President Trump for leading the way,” Morales said. “His courageous decision has encouraged us to do what is right.”

Morales added that he believes more nations will move their embassies to Jerusalem in the future.

Guatemala’s embassy was originally in Jerusalem but moved to Tel Aviv in 1980 at the urging of the U.N. Security Council. It is the first country to join the United States in moving its embassy back to Jerusalem.

In December, Guatemala was the first nation besides the United States, to recognize Jerusalem as the capital of Israel.

After the U.S. announced its decision to move the embassy to Jerusalem, 128 nations backed a U.N. General Assembly resolution condemning decision and requested that it be rescinded.

Only seven countries, aside from Guatemala, joined the U.S. and Israel in voting against the U.N. resolution: Honduras, Marshall Islands, Micronesia, Nauru, Palau, and Togo.